buying a commuter bike

Hey there I really like the site!

I'm buying a bike for the first time but I've been using a freebie hand me down for almost two months that rattles the brakes are going. I've got a very short commute but I'm hoping to cycle more and I live in brighton so there are always hills and my three speed sturmey archer is basically a single speed (unless I want to go mad down hill) for me as the lowest gear isn't all that low (as far as I know). I like the frame it is a lowish step through with close to straight handle bars a rack and mud guards but it weighs a ton getting up the steps to my house and on and off trains as my upper body weediness doesn't help. So rather than fix it up I was going to buy a new one.

So I'm looking for a step through although it doesn't have to be super low (not the full Dutch) that has mud and chain guards (my clothes don't need black oil!) and a rack (or the option to fit one) with enough gears to make the hills a little more manageable (currently I power up as far as I can without collapsing then get off and walk) that I can lift and carry reasonably short distances. I'll only be using it on roads and paths with the odd bit of flat grass. I found the pendleton handle bars weird and on the top end of the weight scale I'd be looking to get if that gives you some idea.

If I could find the weight the Claud Butler Classic Ladies or windemere looks sort of right but I've seen forums trash it and suggest much more expensive bikes. Or maybe the Norco City Glide 8 womens if it isn't too heavy. I've been really confused by the difference between the 200-300 price bracket and the 450-520, is there really a massive quality/weight difference, or is it just fancier brands?