Total Women's Cycling | The Most Popular Cycling Website For Women

Oops! An Error Occurred

The server returned a 404 code

That page is either no longer available, or you've mistyped a URL. If you're certain the URL is correct, please e-mail us and let us know.

No route found for "GET /fm/nav-external/"

Red face Hints and tips for a total novice

Hi everyone!

I'm about to return to school for the new term on my newly purchased Whyte Whitechapel.

It's taken my boyfriend 3 years but I have finally relented and accepted that my commute is probably best served to a bike rather than a car... You won't hear me admit it to him but I am actually quite excited to get on the new toy and use it for my measly journey to work, but I have so many questions that are female specific relating to cycling into an office and not arriving with gross hair and tomato cheeks!

I would really appreciate some advice on the silliest of things:
    - Hair and face; what solutions do people have for making yourself presentable when there are no work showers available?
    - Clothing; what do people find packs best into a backpack and comes out the other end crease free? I have to dress professionally so I won't be cycling in my clothes for the day!
    - Padded shorts/saddle type; is it better to try and make things comfortable, or is it a futile effort in which I just need to accept the discomfort and get used to it?!

Not an office worker so maybe others can help a little more. But heres my offerings.
    When I had long hair it had to be tied up for work anyway, and mostly it got hidden under a cap (caps were our bugbear but great for bad hair days). These days short hair is far more manageable and some recommend a dry powder shampoo where there are no showers.