Question Chamois Washing frequency?

Hello! I am new to road cycling and have just bought a pair of cycling trousers. I didn't realise that you aren't supposed to wear pants with them. Just curious to know how often you all wash yours? I would rather wash them after each use but didn't know if that was necessary. I only do 22 miles a day 5 days a week for work. When I go on a much longer ride I will obviously wash them.
    Does anyone have any tricks in keeping them clean without the washing machine just wearing them out?

Hi,
    I wash mine after each use. I cycle 12 miles each way to work and I've even been tempted to bring a fresh pair of shorts to cycle home in, especially in the summer.

Quote Originally Posted by Sisboombah View Post
    Hello! I am new to road cycling and have just bought a pair of cycling trousers. I didn't realise that you aren't supposed to wear pants with them. Just curious to know how often you all wash yours? I would rather wash them after each use but didn't know if that was necessary. I only do 22 miles a day 5 days a week for work. When I go on a much longer ride I will obviously wash them.
    Does anyone have any tricks in keeping them clean without the washing machine just wearing them out?

I wear thin padded shorts under cycling trousers, when out for a longish ride.... and wash those daily. Though TBH for my commute I used to ride with undies on.... just some fairly plain cotton ones... as long as they don't chafe...
    But like undies I would not repeatedly wear same padded shorts / or longs on repeated days without washing..... they can become a festering harbour for germs... which in turn could lead to sores / infections.

I may be the weird one here, but I typically wash them after 2 hours of exercise. Since I mostly ride 1 hour a day, that works out to an every-other day washing. For me, I don't want to wear them out with excessive washing.