Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Calling all commuters!!

Hi Ladies!
    I am a fashion designer with a wardrobe dilemma.. I cycle to work and I want to look good when I get there so I am developing some jackets to satisfy my own needs. Please do get in touch if you would be interested in helping me understand anything I might be missing in terms of functionality etc. Do you have a favourite outfit for the ride to work? I would love to know what your thoughts and feelings are. Also if you have any favourite things or brands???
    I can't find anything I like which already exisits so if you can help point me in the right direction I will make some to sell, not just or myself...
    Hope you can help - THANKS!!

Hi Claire,
    I'm a bike commuter - every day whatever the weather for the past 18 months now. I wear a uniform to work (the clue is in my user name!) so I'm not sure I can help much with smart commuting clothes. For work travel I wear a breathable base layer and shorts or 3/4 cycle specific bottoms in summer and full waterproof and reflective (Altura) cycle specific jacket and trousers in winter. I do, however, like to bike in my normal clothes on my days off just to get around - into town or to the shops - and I like stuff that looks as non-cycling as possible. Leggings or thick opaque tights in wnter and 3/4 leggings in summer are a godsend and I wear these all the time under ordinary skirts and dresses. I tend not to wear a cycling jacket for these trips if it's raining as I just want to look ordinary when I get off the bike and look different from when I'm going to work so I have a lovely Bobbin waxed cotton poncho (and plain black overtrousers if it's really wet).