Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Female maintenance!

OK. I'm just going to go right ahead and put this out there...

I'm very new to bikes; I only learnt to ride 2 years ago at 27! My first bike was a hybrid and have recently bought a mountain which I'm loving! I did, what I consider, to be my first proper ride over the weekend in the Peak District and it was great. I haven't suffered from any sort of aches and pains other than an issue which I am wondering if shaving/waxing would solve... and I don't mean my legs!

Is this something that is generally an issue for women? Is it better to keep things short and tidy other than au naturelle? Or is it something that you just deal with...?

Welcome to the world of padded shorts, women specific saddles, chamois cream and a preoccupation with how things are down "there"

I'm not sure what others do but I tend to use depilatory cream and trimming and find this works better for me than waxing/shaving but I definitely advocate avoiding any hair removal within 24-48 hours or so of a long ride to remain more comfortable. I'd recommend the best quality padded shorts you can afford (hate to say it but I prefer Rapha by far) and getting the correct saddle for your shape is also vital - have you got a women specific saddle?

There is an interesting new little book and website dedicated to female cyclists nether regions (!) which you may find useful:

http://saddlesorewomen.com/

Good luck!

Yes, I have a saddle. Only the one that came with the bike though, nothing fancy. Had a look at that website, looks useful! I have some padded shorts which seem to be working ok as my bum area is fine, it's just the rubbing! I'm going to go for having a trim and see if that improves things! Thanks for the advice!